FL Mechanic FAQs
The vehicle may be sold at public auction on the 61st day.
The owner of the vehicle must be notified upon completion of the repairs, if the owner does not pick up the vehicle storage may begin on the 4th business day. Your claim of lien letter should be mailed between the 4th and the 15 business day. NOTE: If the letters were not sent within the 15 business days, you may only charge 15 days of storage.
The newspaper ad must run 15 days before the date of auction not including the date of the newspaper ad or the date of sale.
The repair shop must title the vehicle in their name.
You will need a Transfer of Title, the Certificate of Completion, the Report of Sale (both need to be filed and recorded with the Clerk of Court in your county, but the tax collector must have a copy as well), a copy of the work order, a bill of sale if the vehicle sold at auction, a copy of the certified letter, proof of publication from your newspaper and delivery confirmation and/or delivery manifest plus 3877. You must also submit a Certificate of Registration for Repair Shop: issued by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services pursuant to the requirements of section 559.904, Florida Statutes.
If all attempts to locate the owner or lien holder prove unsuccessful, the repair shop shall, within 15 business days, excluding Saturdays and Sundays, from the beginning date of assessment of storage charges, notify the local law enforcement agency using the “good faith letter”, this form is located under the tab “Special Forms”.
You must re-notice the sale by certified mail and re-advertise the sale in the newspaper. The same rules apply for re-notification. All interested parties must be notified and given at least a 15 day notice of the sale and the newspaper ad must run 15 days prior to the sale excluding the date of advertisement and the date of the sale. Please note that the same rules apply for 3877’s for towing and mechanic liens.