TX Towing & Storage FAQs
All registered owners and lien holders must be notified within 5 days, via certified mail. Vehicles not titled in Texas, the registered owners and lien holders must be notified within 14 days. (Notification fees may not exceed $50.00)
If vehicle is not claimed by a person permitted to claim the vehicle before the 15th day after the 1st notice is mailed or published a second notice to the owners and lien holders must be sent.
A notice of abandonment must be sent to law enforcement.
The vehicle can be sold on the 45th day after the first notice was sent.
A VSF is only required to send or publish one notice and the vehicle may be sold on the 30th day after the notice has been mailed, through a public sale.
The storage facility must notify the Texas DOT that notices under Chapter 683, Transportation Code have been provided and shall pay a fee to TxDOT; or Notify the appropriate law enforcement agency to pay a fee to that agency; or A law enforcement agency described by subsection (2)(b) may sign a document issued by TxDOT.
The vehicle is registered in another state, the operator of the storage facility submits a good faith letter or out of state record requests letter, the identity of the owner and lien holder cannot be determined.