Tennessee Salvage Reporting
Current ADD account holders can access the Tennessee Salvage Reporting tools through their existing accounts. Please note that after the July 1, 2016 effective date, additional information will be required as part of the entry and a completed Title Substitution Statement will be generated when entering purchased vehicles. Contact ADD to learn more.
This information is provided as a resource to assist affected Tennessee businesses and stakeholders in understanding and complying with the legal requirements. The information represents Auto Data Direct's understanding of the regulations but is not intended to be legal advice nor a substitute for advice of your counsel.
As of July 1, 2016 a new Regulated Metals Recycling Law is in effect in Tennessee. Under the law, Tennessee recyclers are required to report to the State of Tennessee certain information about the vehicles they handle. Auto Data Direct is the authorized agent through which affected Tennessee businesses may report the required data.
These Tennessee requirements affect scrap metal processors, secondary metal recyclers, auto dismantlers, auto recyclers, or used motor vehicle parts dealers located within the state of Tennessee, whether or not the person or business operates from a fixed location.
Under the new regulations:
- Each physical location in Tennessee will need to have its own unique NMVTIS ID number. For businesses operating in multiple states, each location in Tennessee will need its own unique number.
- Affected businesses must report all salvage vehicles purchased within 24 hours of purchase.
- Affected businesses can purchase salvage vehicles without title, if they and the seller complete a Title Substitution Form and the vehicle is at least 12 years old or older.
- The affected businesses must obtain and retain additional records regarding purchase transactions.
- All records reported will be checked for any “active” stolen VINs and reporting businesses will be notified if a reported VIN is found to be stolen. The communication will tell the reporting business what they must do.
- The affected businesses will report NMVTIS data to the state of Tennessee, and the state will be responsible for reporting required data to NMVTIS.
Please visit the Tennessee Department of Revenue's website for more information.
ADD Reporting Services
ADD is the only approved portal for scrap metal processors, secondary metal recyclers, auto dismantlers, auto recyclers and used motor vehicle parts dealers in Tennessee. Auto Data Direct provides a system for affected Tennessee entities to:
- Report vehicle data to the state as required by Tennessee law.
- Report junk, salvage and total loss vehicle data to the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) as required by federal law.
- Provide the reporting business a “stolen” check and notification if an active “stolen” vehicle is reported.
- Provide the Tennessee Title Substitution Form, which can be used to collect information on vehicles that are purchased without title, and report these to the Department electronically.
There is no cost for Tennessee scrap metal processors, secondary metal recyclers, auto dismantlers, auto recyclers, and used motor vehicle parts dealers to report the required vehicle data through ADD's reporting system to comply with T.C.A. 55-3-202 (Public Chapter 466).
Vehicles reported through a system other than ADD's Tennessee Salvage Reporting process will not meet the requirements of the Tennessee regulations.
Tennessee Salvage Reporting FAQs
Read frequently asked questions regarding the new Tennessee regulations and the ADD Salvage Reporting Process.
Create an account
To begin reporting the required vehicle data to the State of Tennessee and NMVTIS, scrap metal processors, secondary metal recyclers, auto dismantlers, auto recyclers, and used motor vehicle parts dealers will create an ADD Tennessee Salvage Reporting account.
Ready to get started? Create an account.