Florida Begins Temporary Metal Plate Transfer Programfor Auto Dealers on Thursday, May 13, 2010 by Mike Samaan
Effective July 1, 2010, all Florida auto dealers will be required* by law to electronically report a Temporary Transfer of a Metal License Plate on a metal plate that is being _moved_ from one vehicle to another prior to a customer driving off the lot. Dealers who have been issuing a temporary tag rather than transferring the metal plate will now be able to electronically report the Temporary Transfer of a Metal Plate directly to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), and move the metal plate to the purchased vehicle. **This is an additional requirement and does not take the place of the paperwork necessary to process the permanent metal plate transfer.**
How does this new requirement benefit dealers? Once a Temporary Transfer of a Metal Plate is recorded in the DHSMV ’s system, a dealer’s insurance should no longer be accountable for vehicles in the days after a sale, but before permanent title and registration paperwork is completed.
The DHSMV and ADDTag’s “Tag Transfer” program will be implemented by the July 1, 2010 deadline. ADDTag will release detailed instructions, screen shots and have available the best customer support team in the industry ready to answer your questions prior to the July 1st deadline. ADDTag’s 90-day introductory rate for Temporary Transfers of Metal Plates will be $2.00 (plus the $2.00 State fee). ADDTag’s Temporary Tag pricing will remain $2.00 (plus the $2.00 State fee) until September 30, 2010, the end of ADD’s 10-year anniversary pricing.
*If a transaction results in the immediate permanent transfer of the metal plate, (ie, the customer is waiting at the dealership for the dealer to return with the completed, final paperwork from a local tag office) a temporary transfer of the metal plate is not required.