This information represents Auto Data Direct’s understanding of the rule but is not intended to be legal advice nor a substitute for advice of your counsel. Policy changes occur frequently. While we endeavor to update the FAQs regularly, users should consult the Georgia DOR website and their attorney.
Georgia Regulations FAQs
When do the Georgia reporting regulations go into effect?
The Georgia reporting regulations go into effect July 1, 2012
How do I register with my county sheriff?
Registration Forms will be available from the sheriff of each county. The Registration form will, among other things, require a Secondary Metals Recycler to declare that the Secondary Metals Recycler is informed of and will comply with the provisions of the Regulatory Metals Recycling Law. The Sheriff may assess the Secondary Metals Recycler a registration fee not to exceed $200.00, and the registration is valid for a 12 month period.
I do business in Georgia, but I am not located there, do I have to
register with the county sheriff?
Yes. Secondary metal recyclers must register with the sheriff in the Georgia county in which the individual engages in business as a secondary metal recycler.
I have more than one location. Do I need more than one NMVTIS ID?
Yes. Georgia regulations require that each business location have its own NMVTIS ID. To add additional NMVTIS IDs to your Georgia Salvage Reporting account, please contact ADD.
What information should be reported?
To satisfy both the Georgia and Federal NMVTIS reporting requirements, the following information will be reported on each junk, salvage or total loss vehicle:
- Date the automobile was obtained
- Name of the individual or entity selling the vehicle
- Address and driver’s license of the seller
- Vehicle make, model, year, and color
- A statement of whether the automobile was crushed or disposed of, or offered for sale or other purposes
- Whether the vehicle is intended for export out of the United States
How often do I need to report?
Georgia requires that you report this information within 72 hours.
I purchase repairable/rebuildable vehicles, fix and sell them. Do I have
to report the rebuildable and vehicles that I buy and sell to Georgia?
Many recyclers will handle vehicles that should not be reported to Georgia for title cancellation, but will still need to be reported to NMVTIS. The ADD reporting process will accommodate these vehicles, allowing Georgia businesses to satisfy all requirements.
What is a NMVTIS Identification number?
A NMVTIS number is a unique identification number assigned to a company for the purpose of identifying the reporting entity to the NMVTIS database and the Georgia DOR. New accounts may use a previously assigned NMVTIS ID, or Auto Data Direct will assign the necessary NMVTIS ID(s) to the reporting entity.
Do I have to report when I purchase a vehicle AND when it is crushed or
Because some junk or salvage yards may hold vehicles for several months or years before a final disposition (e.g., crushed, sold) is known, some reporting entities may need to provide a second report when the final disposition of a vehicle is known. The NMVTIS regulations do not preclude a junk or salvage yard from reporting the final disposition of a vehicle at the time of first reporting, if such a disposition is known with certainty. Junk and salvage yards are responsible for ensuring the accuracy and completeness of their reporting and for providing corrected information to the system, should the disposition be changed from what was initially reported.
I don’t have a title. How do I determine if there is a lien on the
For vehicles that are not accompanied by a current title, you must conduct a Georgia lien check through ADD prior to reporting the vehicle.
What do I do with the MV-1SP form once it is completed?
Once printed, the MV-1SP form must be signed by the seller, and the seller must be provided a copy of the signed document. The signed original should be maintained on site for a minimum of two years.
You do not need to mail the MV-1SP form to Georgia DOR or Auto Data Direct, Inc.
What is the penalty for non-compliance?
Penalty for non-compliance is a $1000 fine per un-reported vehicle.
Do I have to set up an ADD account to report to Georgia?
Yes. Auto Data Direct is the authorized service provider for Georgia salvage reporting. The no-cost reporting process can only be accomplished through Auto Data Direct.
How do I send the vehicle reports to ADD?
ADD provides a no-cost electronic reporting process to fulfill the Georgia and NMVTIS reporting requirements, as well as to run the lien check and complete the Georgia MV-1SP form. Each company will be required to create an account in order to access the reporting and forms tools.
Why do I need to deposit funds into a pre-paid account?
The $50.00 pre-paid account deposit is required to cover the state fees related to the Georgia lien verification process. There is a state fee of $1.00 per inquiry for the Georgia lien check on all untitled vehicles.
What if I reported a vehicle and later discovered that the reported information was incorrect?
Auto Data Direct will provide a method to correct information provided to Georgia and NMVTIS.
I use a management system. Can I use it to report to Georgia?
The current NMVTIS batch reporting format DOES NOT satisfy the new Georgia reporting requirements. ADD is working to upgrade the batch process to include the additional Georgia information. Once a batch format that includes the new data is available, ADD will work with the management systems to allow batch reporting through the management system.
Batch reporting will remain available to allow continued NMVTIS reporting SEPARATE FROM the Georgia requirements. You can still use your management system to report to NMVTIS but Georgia reporting will have to be handled by the individual entry method on Auto Data Direct.
What do I do if I receive the vehicle before I receive the title?
You should not begin to dismantle, part out or crush the vehicle until the you have received the title. You should not report the vehicle to Georgia until you have received the title.
The NMVTIS reporting window begins with physical receipt of the vehicle, regardless of whether you have received the title. You may be required to report the vehicle to NMVTIS separately, before the vehicle is reported to Georgia.
What do I do when I finally receive the title?
The 72 hour Georgia reporting window begins after receipt of the title. Within 72 hours of receipt of the title you should report the information through the ADD system. If you have previously reported the vehicle to NMVTIS, you may be required to reports an updated disposition at this time.
Does ADD aggregate or sell my information?
No. ADD does not sell, disclose, compile, or aggregate its customers’ information beyond the scope of its legal obligation to Georgia and the operator of NMVTIS.